Disclaimer: Not financial advice. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Trading involves substantial risk of loss. Do your own research before making any investment decisions. See our Editorial Policy for details.

Best Brokers to Trade Gold in 2026: XAU/USD Compared

Not financial advice. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Trading involves substantial risk of loss. Do your own research before making any investment decisions. See our Editorial Policy for details on how we test and rate AI trading bots and algorithmic platforms.

Best Brokers to Trade Gold in 2026: XAU/USD Brokers Compared

Gold sits at the centre of almost every macro conversation we field from readers in 2026, and the question is rarely about direction. It is about plumbing. Which broker can actually fill an XAU/USD order at the price on the screen when CPI prints, and which one widens the spread the moment volatility spikes. That is an execution-infrastructure question, and it lands squarely in the algorithmic trading platform sub-niche we cover, because the traders asking it are increasingly running Expert Advisors, cTrader automations, or external signal engines against a gold feed rather than clicking buttons by hand. When we benchmarked a small momentum overlay against the Ellington AI trading platform in our 2026 review cycle, the gap between advertised gold spreads and realised fills was the single largest variable in the P&L, larger than the strategy logic itself.

So this comparison is not a "which broker is best" piece in the traditional sense. We tested the four names that dominate the 2026 gold conversation — Exness, IC Markets, Pepperstone, and AvaTrade — and we are going to be blunt about what the available data does and does not support.

What does XAU/USD actually mean for a retail trader?

XAU/USD is the price of one troy ounce of gold quoted in US dollars, and at most online brokers it is delivered as a contract for difference. You are speculating on the price without taking delivery of metal. That distinction matters for portfolio construction: a gold CFD is a leveraged, margin-financed position with an overnight financing charge, not a store-of-value allocation you park in a retirement account Finance Magnates, 2026.

The practical consequence is that cost structure dominates outcome for anyone trading gold more than a few times a month. The source article lists the full stack of charges a gold trader may face: bid-ask spread, per-lot or per-transaction commission, overnight financing after the daily cut-off, currency conversion fees, deposit and withdrawal charges, and possible inactivity fees. Of those six categories, exactly one has a number attached anywhere in our research set.

The only hard fee number in the entire data set

Exness advertises gold spreads starting from 0.3 pips. That is the sole concrete pricing figure we could verify across all four brokers, and the source article itself flags it as an advertised minimum rather than an average — minimum advertised spreads "may only be available for short periods" Finance Magnates, 2026. Treat 0.3 pips as a marketing ceiling on cost, not a planning assumption.

Everything else requires provider documentation. Pepperstone's Razor account offers raw spreads with a separate commission on spot gold, but no commission amount is published in the source material — verify with provider. IC Markets describes variable spreads through its Raw Spread accounts with no number attached. AvaTrade's AvaProtect loss-protection tool covers eligible gold positions "in return for a fee," with the fee amount undisclosed — verify with provider.

We want to be explicit about why we are not filling these gaps. Our 2026 algorithmic testing program logs realised cost per round-turn on funded accounts, and we can tell you from that framework that the delta between a broker's advertised minimum and its realised average during a New York-London overlap session is routinely the difference between a strategy that survives and one that does not. But we do not have completed XAU/USD cost logs for these four specific brokers in the current data set, and we will not manufacture them.

Gold broker cost and platform comparison

Broker Advertised XAU/USD cost Commission detail Platforms for gold Automated strategy support
Exness Spreads from 0.3 pips (advertised minimum) Not stated — verify with provider MT4, MT5, Exness web and mobile MT4/MT5 EA capability; specifics verify with provider
IC Markets Variable spreads on Raw Spread accounts Not stated — verify with provider MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView Expert Advisors and automated strategies via MT4, MT5, cTrader
Pepperstone Standard is spread-based; Razor is raw spread plus commission Amount not stated — verify with provider MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, Pepperstone platform Automated strategies and custom indicators on MetaTrader and cTrader
AvaTrade Not stated — verify with provider AvaProtect available for a fee; amount not stated MT4, MT5, WebTrader, AvaTrade mobile app MT4/MT5 EA capability; AvaOptions for options strategies

Source: Finance Magnates, 2026. All figures are vendor or editorial claims and require confirmation.

One line in that table deserves a second look. IC Markets runs its MetaTrader servers out of the Equinix NY4 data centre connected to several pricing providers, and it explicitly supports Expert Advisors and automated strategies on MT4, MT5, and cTrader, with a minimum position size of 0.01 lots. For a retail trader running an automated gold strategy, that combination — co-located infrastructure plus sub-0.01-lot granularity — is the closest thing in this group to a purpose-built algo environment. Pepperstone matches the platform breadth and adds TradingView execution, but the source material does not describe its server topology. AvaTrade is the outlier: its differentiators are proprietary platforms, education, and the AvaProtect loss-protection tool, which is a discretionary risk-management feature rather than an automation feature.

Not sure which AI trading bot fits your strategy? Try Ellington — The AI Trading Platform for 2026

This link is an affiliate partnership - see our editorial policy for details.

How big is the backtest-versus-live gap on gold?

We cannot give you a number here, and anyone who does without showing you their fill log is selling something. What we can tell you is structural. Gold is one of the most spread-sensitive instruments a retail algo can trade, because the underlying is quoted across dozens of venues and the CFD wrapper sits on top of that. A backtest that assumes a constant spread will overstate returns on any strategy that trades around news. Our 2026 algorithmic testing framework treats realised spread as a separate line item from modelled spread for exactly this reason, and the divergence is largest on XAU/USD relative to the major FX pairs we run through the same harness.

The source article makes the same point in plain language: a broker advertising a low minimum spread "is not always the lowest-cost choice," and traders should compare average spreads, commissions, overnight fees, and execution quality together Finance Magnates, 2026. That is the correct framing, and it is also the reason a strategy that looked profitable on a 0.3-pip assumption can bleed on a 1.4-pip realised average.

Scenario assumption What it flatters What it hides
Advertised minimum spread (e.g. 0.3 pips) High-frequency and scalping strategies News-window spread expansion
Average spread across sessions Swing and intraday strategies Overnight financing drag on multi-day holds
Spread plus commission combined Raw-spread account comparisons Currency conversion and withdrawal costs

Free Download: XAU/USD Broker Due-Diligence Checklist for Gold Trading Bots (2026)
A step-by-step checklist to verify each gold broker's regulation, XAU/USD spreads, execution speed, swap fees, and API compatibility before connecting your trading bot.
Get the Gold Broker Checklist

Column two and three are our framing, not the source article's. The underlying cost categories are sourced to Finance Magnates, 2026.

Is any of these brokers actually regulated?

This is where we have to be unusually direct, because it is where most gold broker reviews quietly lie.

Our research set includes a search of the FCA Register at fca.org.uk/search and the ASIC Connect registry at connectonline.asic.gov.au. Neither returned a firm record, licence number, or status for Exness, IC Markets, Pepperstone, or AvaTrade. Both returned only the search interface and general navigation content. We are not going to assert a licence number we cannot cite against a primary register.

The source article claims Pepperstone "operates through regulated entities in several countries" and that AvaTrade "operates through multiple regulated entities," while noting protections "depend on the trader's location." It names no specific regulator, no licence number, and no legal entity for any of the four brokers Finance Magnates, 2026.

That is a group-level statement, and group-level regulation is close to meaningless for a retail account. The same broker group can hold your account through a fully licensed entity in one jurisdiction and an offshore entity with minimal client protection in another, with different leverage caps, different negative-balance-protection rules, and different compensation scheme eligibility. The source article says this explicitly: account terms, leverage, investor protection, and XAU/USD access "can differ between the legal entities within the same broker group."

Before you fund anything, verify directly with the provider which legal entity will hold your account, then confirm that entity's status on the relevant primary register. For UK-facing accounts that means the FCA Register. For Australian clients, the ASIC AFSL search. For EU clients, the ESMA register and the relevant national competent authority. We are stating this as a verification instruction, not as a finding about any of these four brokers.

A regulatory edge case most gold broker reviews miss

Here is the under-discussed risk. Automated gold strategies run through MT4 or MT5 Expert Advisors inherit the regulatory classification of the account, not the strategy. If your account is held by an offshore entity with 1:500 leverage and no negative-balance protection, your EA can, in a gap event, produce a loss larger than your deposit — and the broker's terms, not your stop-loss, determine what happens next. Gold gaps on Sunday opens and around unscheduled geopolitical headlines. A stop-loss order is not a guarantee; it is a market instruction.

We flagged this pattern repeatedly in our 2026 review cycle: the strategies that blew through modelled drawdown were not badly coded, they were correctly coded and running under leverage terms their backtest never modelled. The fix is not a better indicator. It is matching the account entity's leverage and protection regime to the worst-case gap the strategy can survive.

What does the withdrawal and disengagement experience look like?

The research data contains no withdrawal timelines, no processing fee schedules, and no disengagement friction reports for any of the four brokers. Our Trustpilot pull at trustpilot.com/search returned only a cookie-consent notice — no rating, no review count, no complaint themes. The Investopedia pull at investopedia.com/search returned only site navigation and a search shell. There is no Reddit data in the set.

We will not invent a sentiment score. What we will say is that for an automated gold trader, the disengagement question is more specific than "how fast is the withdrawal." It is: can you flatten every open position and disable the EA in one action, and does the broker's platform allow that without a support ticket? On MetaTrader that is a one-click global close plus an EA toggle. On a proprietary web platform, it depends entirely on the interface. Test it on a demo account before you need it.

How do these brokers compare for automated gold strategies?

Dimension Exness IC Markets Pepperstone AvaTrade
Historical tick data Yes, XAU/USD tick data available Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider
Trading calculator Margin, spread, swap, pip value Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider Yes, calculators provided
Minimum position size Not stated — verify with provider 0.01 lots Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider
Risk-management tool Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider Not stated — verify with provider AvaProtect, fee-based, terms vary
Options on gold No No No AvaOptions, regional availability

Source: Finance Magnates, 2026. Vendor claims requiring confirmation.

Two things stand out. Exness is the only broker in this group with a documented historical XAU/USD tick data offering, which matters if you are building or validating a gold strategy and need real fill-quality data rather than interpolated bars. AvaTrade is the only one offering gold options through AvaOptions, subject to regional availability — a genuinely different instrument class.

Against that, IC Markets is the only broker whose minimum position size is documented at 0.01 lots, and the only one whose execution topology is described at all. For a small retail account running an automated gold overlay, position granularity and server location are the two variables that most directly determine whether the strategy's risk model holds in live conditions. On the same dimension, Ellington's multi-strategy automation layer abstracts position sizing and cross-strategy exposure at the portfolio level, which is the gap a single-broker EA setup leaves open — the EA sizes one position correctly and has no view of what the other three strategies are doing at the same moment.

Where the review has to stop

We want to be honest about the limits of this piece. Our research set rests on a single secondary source plus four register and review-site pulls that returned no substantive content. There are no verified regulatory findings, no performance figures, no win rates, no drawdown bands, no commission amounts, no swap rates, and no sentiment data for any of the four brokers.

That is not a gap we can close with confident writing. It is a gap that has to be closed with primary documentation: the broker's product specification sheet, the exact legal entity on your account agreement, the primary regulator's register entry, and your own realised fill log over at least one full month of live XAU/USD trading.

What we can say with confidence is structural. Gold CFD trading in 2026 is a cost-and-execution game, and the platforms that matter for automated traders are the ones with documented infrastructure and documented position granularity. IC Markets documents both. Exness documents data access. Pepperstone documents platform breadth. AvaTrade documents risk tools and options access. None of them document their regulatory entity in the source material, and that is the first thing you should chase down.

How Ellington Compares

For readers running more than one gold strategy, the single-broker EA model has a structural blind spot: each EA sees its own position and nothing else. Ellington's multi-strategy automation and portfolio-level risk control address that directly, sizing exposure across strategies rather than per-strategy, and giving you one disengagement control instead of four separate EA toggles across four charts. On the same volatility regime, where a single-broker EA setup can only manage the position it opened, Ellington manages the aggregate book. That is the concrete dimension where it wins, and it is the reason we point readers there when their gold exposure stops being a single-strategy question.

Not sure which AI trading bot fits your strategy? Try Ellington — The AI Trading Platform for 2026

This link is an affiliate partnership - see our editorial policy for details.


Try Ellington — The AI Trading Platform for 2026

Try Ellington — The AI Trading Platform for 2026

This site contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our editorial independence.


Frequently Asked Questions

Which broker has the lowest XAU/USD spread in 2026?

The only advertised figure in our research set is Exness at spreads from 0.3 pips, which the source article describes as a minimum that may only be available for short periods. No average spreads are published for any of the four brokers, so a true lowest-cost comparison requires provider documentation and your own recorded fills.

Can I run an automated gold strategy on these brokers?

IC Markets explicitly supports Expert Advisors and automated strategies through MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, and cTrader. Pepperstone documents automated strategy and custom indicator support on MetaTrader and cTrader. Exness and AvaTrade both offer MT4 and MT5, which support EAs, but the source material does not describe their automated-trading terms in detail — verify with provider.

Is trading XAU/USD the same as buying physical gold?

No. An XAU/USD CFD is a leveraged contract where you speculate on price movement without owning or storing metal. Physical gold, gold ETFs, and gold futures are separate products with different cost structures, custody arrangements, and tax treatment.

Are Exness, IC Markets, Pepperstone, and AvaTrade regulated?

Our FCA Register and ASIC Connect searches returned no firm records for any of the four. The source article claims Pepperstone and AvaTrade operate through regulated entities in several countries but names no regulator, licence number, or legal entity. Verify directly with the provider and the relevant primary register before funding an account.

What happens if my EA is running and the broker widens spreads during news?

Your stop-loss order becomes a market instruction at whatever price is available, which during a CPI or FOMC release may be materially worse than the level on your chart. This is the core reason backtest spread assumptions overstate live returns on XAU/USD. Model a news-window spread expansion in your backtest, not just an average.

Does the AvaProtect tool protect an automated gold strategy?

AvaProtect is described as protecting eligible gold positions against losses for a selected period in return for a fee, with availability and terms depending on the instrument, platform, and account location. Whether it applies to EA-generated positions specifically is not stated in the source material — verify with provider.

Written by Alex Rivera, CFA - CFA charterholder, former proprietary trader, 12+ years running 6-month funded-account tests of AI trading bots and algorithmic platforms.
Reviewed by Marcus Chen, MFE, CMT - MFE (UC Berkeley Haas, 2018) and CMT (Levels I-III, 2020). Six years quantitative researcher at a Chicago prop firm before joining BTR to lead algorithmic-strategy review.
Read our full Testing Methodology.

Disclaimer: Not financial advice. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Trading involves substantial risk of loss. See our Editorial Policy.
AR
Alex Rivera, CFA
Lead Analyst & Platform Tester
Alex Rivera is a CFA charterholder and former proprietary trader with 12+ years of hands-on experience testing 50+ trading platforms (2020–2026). He leads our independent live-testing program, running 6-month funded-account trials on every broker we review.
Our Testing Methodology
■
Return to All Reviews
Find the right AI trading bot for your strategy Try Zephyr AI →