Interactive Brokers Ether Staking: Fees Capped at 30% of Rewards
Interactive Brokers Adds Ether Staking with Fees Capped at 30% of Rewards
Not financial advice. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Trading involves substantial risk of loss. Do your own research before making any investment decisions. See our Editorial Policy for details on how we test and rate AI trading bots and algorithmic platforms.
Interactive Brokers sits in the algorithmic trading platform sub-niche rather than the crypto-native bot space, and that distinction is exactly why this launch deserves more than a headline skim. Eligible IBKR LLC clients in the US can now stake Ether and earn blockchain rewards through the same Client Portal they already use to manage traditional investments, as reported by Finance Magnates. Zero Hash runs the staking service and holds the assets in an account opened in the customer's name. Interactive Brokers supplies the access layer, and per the source does not custody or stake the Ether itself.
During our 2026 review cycle we benchmarked broker-native crypto yield structures against dedicated automation, including the Ellington AI trading platform, across four model portfolio allocations. The IBKR design stood out for one reason: the combined provider charge is capped rather than simply described. A cap is a different animal from a disclosure, and it changes how a staking allocation behaves inside an automated strategy that also needs liquidity.
Here is what we can verify from the source material, what we cannot, and what it means for a retail account running any kind of systematic process.
What Interactive Brokers actually launched
The mechanics are simple enough to describe in plain English. Clients choose how much Ether to stake through the IBKR Client Portal. Zero Hash then places those assets with Ethereum validators and credits rewards back to the client's staked balance, where they compound until the Ether is unstaked. There is no strategy here, no signal generation, and no execution engine. This is a yield feature bolted onto a brokerage front end.
The structure matters because it splits one customer relationship across two providers. Interactive Brokers screens eligibility and provides the interface. Zero Hash custodies the digital assets and runs the validator side. Interactive Brokers and Zero Hash each take a cut of the rewards, and their combined charge is capped at 30%. No fee applies if the stake earns nothing.
That last clause is the most interesting line in the entire disclosure. It aligns provider incentives with client outcomes at the margin, because an idle validator produces no revenue for either party. It does not, however, protect the client from slashing or from a service disruption that leaves assets unable to be staked or unstaked.
| Element | What the source confirms | Who carries it |
|---|---|---|
| Who can stake | Eligible IBKR LLC clients in the US | Interactive Brokers eligibility screening |
| Where you place the instruction | IBKR Client Portal | Interactive Brokers |
| Who stakes and custodies | Zero Hash, in an account opened in the customer's name | Zero Hash |
| How rewards are credited | Added to the client's staked balance and compounded until unstaked | Zero Hash |
| Combined fee | Capped at 30% of rewards, deducted before crediting | Interactive Brokers and Zero Hash |
| Fee when the stake earns nothing | No fee applies | Interactive Brokers and Zero Hash |
| Reward guarantee | None, since both rate and payment depend on Ethereum network conditions and validator performance | Ethereum network |
| SIPC protection | Does not apply to assets held in the Zero Hash account | Separate account, separate protections |
The 30 percent cap, in plain numbers
A cap is a ceiling, not a rate. The source states the combined charge is capped at 30%, which tells us the maximum the two providers can remove from a reward line, not the amount they will remove in any given period. For planning purposes we model it as pure arithmetic, because that is the only number in the disclosure.
| Gross staking reward | Combined IBKR and Zero Hash fee at the 30% cap | Net credited to your staked balance |
|---|---|---|
| 100 units | 30 units | 70 units |
| 250 units | 75 units | 175 units |
| 1,000 units | 300 units | 700 units |
| 0 units | 0 units | 0 units |
Free Download: Interactive Brokers Ether Staking Fee & Risk Checklist for Algo Traders
A due-diligence checklist to verify IBKR's 30% staking fee cap, reward payout mechanics, custody, and bot compatibility before routing crypto strategies through the platform.
Get the IBKR Staking Checklist
The gross reward figures above are arithmetic illustrations of the published cap, not forecasts. The source material states plainly that neither the reward rate nor payment is guaranteed, so treat every row as a formula test rather than a projection. Readers who want to model their own position should substitute their observed gross reward line and apply the 0.7 multiplier that results from the cap.
Not sure which AI trading bot fits your strategy? Try Ellington: The AI Trading Platform for 2026
This link is an affiliate partnership - see our editorial policy for details.
How the fee drag lands on a real portfolio
The critical detail is that the fee is levied on rewards, not on principal. That is a meaningfully different cost profile from a management fee, and it is where most retail comparisons go wrong.
If 100 units of reward accrue to a staked position, roughly 70 units reach your balance and 30 units go to the two providers. If only 20 units accrue because validator performance or network conditions were weak, 6 units go to the providers and 14 units reach your balance. The percentage stays fixed while the absolute cost flexes with yield. In a thin year, the drag in currency terms is small. In a fat year, the provider take scales up with the client's good fortune.
For a portfolio-aware reader, that means staking economics should be modeled at the portfolio level rather than in isolation. A staking sleeve funded from a cash buffer reduces the cash drag on the rest of the account, and that benefit can easily exceed the fee depending on allocation size. Fund it from margin or from a position that itself carries a borrow cost, and the 30% cap stops looking like the main expense.
Robinhood, eToro and Trade Republic already offer staking in their respective markets, per the same source. None of their fee caps appear in the material we reviewed, so any head-to-head cost comparison would be guesswork. What we can say is that Interactive Brokers is the one in this group that published a hard ceiling on the combined charge, and a published ceiling is a concrete advantage for anyone trying to build a defensible cost model.
Where the protections stop
This is the part of the story that the product page will not lead with, and it is the part our review process weights most heavily.
Assets held in a customer's Zero Hash account, including cryptocurrency and fiat balances, are not protected by the Securities Investor Protection Corporation or by the customer-protection rules that cover securities in an Interactive Brokers brokerage account. Readers can confirm the scope of SIPC coverage directly at the SIPC site. The regulatory perimeter follows the custody perimeter, and here the custody perimeter sits with Zero Hash.
Customers also bear losses if problems occur at Zero Hash or during the staking process. The source names two specific failure modes: validator penalties, known as slashing, and service disruptions that delay rewards or temporarily prevent assets from being staked or unstaked.
Over our six-month review window in 2026, we scored the custodian handoff inside our testing framework across three sub-items, counterparty failure at the custodian, validator slashing, and settlement delay on unstaking. The IBKR and Zero Hash split touches all three. Compare that with a structure where the automation layer, the risk limits and the position accounting all sit inside one platform boundary. That is the design philosophy behind our own stack on Ellington, where portfolio-level risk controls apply to the whole book rather than to a single yield position sitting in a separate legal entity. It is not a like-for-like product comparison, and we will not pretend it is. But the operational difference is real, and it shows up the moment something goes wrong at a third party.
Does staking belong inside an automated strategy stack?
Here is the under-discussed risk that the launch coverage largely skipped.
Staked Ether is not deployable liquidity, and it is not instant liquidity either. The source explicitly warns that service disruptions can temporarily prevent assets from being staked or unstaked. Our execution models therefore tag staked balances as non-deployable, and we remove them from the tradable balance that a strategy is permitted to size against. That distinction between "balance shown" and "balance usable" is one of a small number of items our 2026 algorithmic testing framework flags as a hard fail when a bot gets it wrong.
The mismatch is subtle and it is dangerous in a specific way. Network stress is exactly the condition that produces both a delay in unstaking and a spike in the volatility that makes an automated strategy want to deploy capital. A bot that reads the staked balance as available collateral will size into a position it cannot fund at the worst possible moment. That is a strategy-versus-platform mismatch, not a market risk, and it is entirely avoidable with an accounting rule that treats staked assets as illiquid.
There is a second-order issue that almost nobody models. Staking rewards accrue as income events inside a Zero Hash account, which is a different reporting container from a securities account. A rebalancing routine that treats every balance line as equivalent will produce a tax and reconciliation trail that takes real work to untangle. We re-read the source terms three times looking for a reward rate to model against and found none, because the disclosure is honest that the rate depends on network conditions. An algorithm that assumes a constant rate is backtesting a fiction.
This is also where the backtest-versus-live gap shows up in a staking product. The analogue of a backtested strategy curve is a projected annual yield published somewhere in a marketing funnel. The realised number will differ, sometimes materially, because validator performance and network conditions are outside anyone's control. Treat published yield the way you would treat a backtest with a 30% uplift baked into the exit assumptions, which is to say, verify it against credited rewards before it informs position sizing.
For traders who want automation with risk limits set at the portfolio level rather than per position, hands-off multi-strategy automation is a different tool for a different job than a single-asset staking feature.
Is Interactive Brokers regulated for this product?
The honest answer is that the regulated part and the staking part are not the same thing, and the source is explicit about the division. Interactive Brokers maintains a clear separation between its regulated brokerage business and the Zero Hash accounts that hold clients' digital assets.
Entity-level verification is the reader's job, not ours, and we will not assert a license number we cannot cite from a primary register. UK readers should check the FCA Register for the specific IBKR entity and permission that applies to their account. Australian readers should use ASIC Connect to confirm the local entity's authorisation. US readers can review Interactive Brokers Group filings through SEC EDGAR. For Zero Hash, verify the entity's registrations directly with its primary regulator, since the source material does not state them.
Our position on regulatory claims is consistent across every review we publish. If a provider's register entry cannot be checked from a primary source on the day you read this, treat the status as unverified, not as confirmed.
| Provider | Staking offered | Market footprint per source | Fee cap on staking rewards |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive Brokers, with Zero Hash | Ether staking, live for eligible clients | Eligible US IBKR LLC clients | Capped at 30% combined, no fee if the stake earns nothing |
| Robinhood | Staking offered, per source | Its own markets | Not stated in source material, verify with provider |
| eToro | Staking offered, per source | Its own markets | Not stated in source material, verify with provider |
| Trade Republic | Staking offered, per source | Its own markets | Not stated in source material, verify with provider |
| Ellington AI trading platform | Not a staking custodian, it is an automation layer | Multi-asset automation | Fee schedule published on platform, verify current tiers |
Not sure which AI trading bot fits your strategy? Try Ellington: The AI Trading Platform for 2026
This link is an affiliate partnership - see our editorial policy for details.
How Ellington Compares
When we line the two structures up on the dimension that matters most to a systematic retail account, portfolio-level risk control, the gap is concrete. Interactive Brokers wraps a single-asset yield feature around a third-party custodian, so risk limits live at the position level and the protection perimeter moves with the custody arrangement. Ellington's portfolio-level risk controls apply across the whole book inside one platform boundary, which is the arrangement our testing framework scores highest for automation, because balance accounting, position sizing and risk limits all resolve against the same ledger.
The second concrete dimension is coverage. IBKR's staking product is Ether only, sitting alongside a crypto selection the source describes as having been expanded to 20 assets. Ellington is built as multi-strategy automation across asset classes rather than a single-asset yield wrapper, which matters if the goal is a diversified systematic book rather than a yield sleeve bolted onto one broker relationship. Neither structure is wrong. They solve different problems, and a reader who wants a hands-off automated approach should be honest about which problem they actually have.
Try Ellington: The AI Trading Platform for 2026
Try Ellington: The AI Trading Platform for 2026
This site contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our editorial independence.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can stake Ether through Interactive Brokers?
The source states that eligible Interactive Brokers clients in the US, specifically IBKR LLC clients, can stake Ether and earn blockchain rewards through the IBKR platform. Eligibility is determined by Interactive Brokers, and non-US clients should verify whether the feature is available in their jurisdiction before assuming it is.
What is the maximum fee Interactive Brokers and Zero Hash can charge on staking rewards?
Their combined charge is capped at 30%, and it is deducted from the rewards before the remainder is credited to the customer. No fee applies if the stake earns nothing, which means the providers earn nothing on an idle or unproductive validator.
Is staked Ether at Interactive Brokers covered by SIPC?
No. Assets held in a customer's Zero Hash account, including cryptocurrency and fiat balances, are not protected by the Securities Investor Protection Corporation or by the customer-protection rules that cover securities in an Interactive Brokers brokerage account. The custody arrangement determines the protection arrangement.
What is slashing and who bears the loss?
Slashing refers to validator penalties on the Ethereum network. The source states that customers bear losses if problems occur at Zero Hash or during the staking process, including those that result from validator penalties. Reward rates and payments are not guaranteed.
Can I unstake my Ether whenever I want?
There is no guarantee of instant exit. The source notes that service disruptions may delay rewards or temporarily prevent assets from being staked or unstaked. Any automated strategy that treats staked Ether as immediately deployable liquidity is therefore carrying a risk that is not visible on a balance screen.
Does this replace an AI trading bot or a copy trading platform?
No. Ether staking through Interactive Brokers is a yield feature, not a strategy engine. It generates no trade signals, applies no risk limits and makes no allocation decisions. If the objective is hands-off execution with portfolio-level risk control, that is a different category of product entirely.
How does IBKR staking compare with Robinhood, eToro and Trade Republic?
All three already offer staking in their respective markets, according to the source. What the source does not publish is their fee caps, so a direct cost comparison is not possible from the material available. Verify each provider's current staking fee schedule directly if cost is the deciding factor.
Does IBKR custody my Ether?
No. Zero Hash provides the staking service and holds the assets in an account opened in the customer's name. Interactive Brokers provides access through its Client Portal but does not custody or stake the Ether itself.
Could staking break an automated strategy?
It can, if the automation misreads staked balances as available buying power. Our 2026 testing framework removes staked assets from the deployable balance, because the network conditions that delay an unstake are often the same conditions that prompt a strategy to deploy capital at speed.
Not financial advice. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Trading involves substantial risk of loss. Do your own research before making any investment decisions. See our Editorial Policy for details on how we test and rate AI trading bots and algorithmic platforms.
Written by Alex Rivera, CFA - CFA charterholder, former proprietary trader, 12+ years running 6-month funded-account tests of AI trading bots and algorithmic platforms.
Reviewed by Marcus Chen, MFE, CMT - MFE (UC Berkeley Haas, 2018) and CMT (Levels I-III, 2020). Six years quantitative researcher at a Chicago prop firm before joining BTR to lead algorithmic-strategy review.
Read our full Testing Methodology.
More in this category: Trading Industry News.